Ted's Sports Center - Tentative Razor Clam Seasons Through December 31st
Welcome, Guest. Please create an account or sign in.
Please sign in to access your shopping cart.

Reports

Tentative Razor Clam Seasons Through December 31st

posted by Mike on 09/25/2014

WDFW tentatively schedules razor clam digs through Dec. 31

 

 

September 24, 2014

Contact:

 

OLYMPIA – The first razor clam dig of the season is tentatively scheduled next month with additional digs planned through New Year’s Eve.

In announcing the initial digging schedule, state fishery managers emphasized that final approval of all scheduled openings will depend on results of marine toxin tests that show the clams are safe to eat.

“We’re announcing this proposed schedule to give people time to makes plans,” said Dan Ayres, coastal shellfish manager for the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW). “However, none of the digs are confirmed until we announce the results of the toxin tests.”

During the first set of digs, scheduled Oct. 7 through Oct. 12, both Twin Harbors and Long Beach will be open all six days, with additional harvest opportunities at Mocrocks and Copalis. Through the end of the year, WDFW has tentatively scheduled a total of 41 days of razor clam digs.

Beach surveys indicate an average razor clam population at Copalis this year while Twin Harbors, Long Beach and Mocrocks show excellent numbers of clams, Ayres said.

“Overall, there are a lot of clams out there and we expect this to be another great season,” he said.

Under state law, diggers can take 15 razor clams per day and are required to keep the first 15 they dig. Each digger's clams must be kept in a separate container. Diggers may not harvest any part of another person's daily limit, unless they possess a designated harvester card.

Razor clam diggers age 15 or older must have an applicable 2014-15 fishing license to harvest razor clams on state beaches. Fishing licenses of various kinds are available on the department's website at https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov and from license vendors around the state. A new WDFW video, which demonstrates how to teach your kids to harvest razor clams, is available at http://youtu.be/gl9p_PparVk.

WDFW recently sought public comments on the upcoming razor clam season.  Ayres said he appreciates that so many people sent in comments.

“We have done our best to incorporate as many of those suggestions as possible in the months ahead,” Ayres said.

Below is the schedule of proposed razor clam digs, along with evening low tides and beaches:

  • Oct. 7, 2014, Tuesday; 6:26 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Oct. 8, 2014, Wednesday; 7:13 p.m., -0.9 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Oct. 9, 2014, Thursday; 7:58 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Oct. 10, 2014, Friday; 8:43 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Oct. 11, 2014, Saturday; 9:28 pm, -0.8 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
  • Oct. 12, 2014, Sunday; 10:15 p.m., -0.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Oct. 22, 2014, Wednesday; 6:31 p.m., 0.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Oct. 23, 2014, Thursday; 7:07 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Oct. 24, 2014, Friday; 7:44 p.m., -0.4 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Oct. 25, 2014, Saturday; 8:22 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
  • Oct. 26, 2014, Sunday; 9:03 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Oct. 27, 2014, Monday; 9:47 p.m., -0.4 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Oct. 28, 2014, Tuesday; 10:36 p.m., -0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Nov. 4, 2014, Tuesday; 4:26 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Nov. 5, 2014, Wednesday; 5:14 p.m., -0.7 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Nov. 6, 2014, Thursday; 5:59 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Nov. 7, 2014, Friday; 6:42 p.m., -1.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Nov. 8, 2014, Saturday; 7:24 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
  • Nov. 9, 2014, Sunday; 8:05 p.m., -0.7 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Nov. 10, 2014, Monday; 8:47 p.m., -0.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Nov. 11, 2014, Tuesday; 9:31 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Nov. 20, 2014, Thursday; 5:06 p.m., 0.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Nov. 21, 2014, Friday; 5:45 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Nov. 22, 2014, Saturday; 6:24 p.m., -0.8 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
  • Nov. 23, 2014, Sunday; 7:05 p.m., -1.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Nov. 24, 2014, Monday; 7:47 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Nov. 25, 2014, Tuesday; 8:32 p.m., -0.9 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Nov. 26, 2014, Wednesday; 9:19 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Dec. 3, 2014, Wednesday; 4:14 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Dec. 4, 2014, Thursday; 5:02 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Dec. 5, 2014, Friday; 5:45 p.m., -0.9 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Dec. 6, 2014, Saturday; 6:26 p.m., -1.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
  • Dec. 7, 2014, Sunday; 7:05 p.m., -0.9 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Dec. 8, 2014, Monday; 7:44 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Dec. 9, 2014, Tuesday; 8:21 pm, -0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Dec. 19, 2014, Friday; 4:41 p.m., 0.0.feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Dec. 20, 2014, Saturday, 5:23 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis
  • Dec. 21, 2014, Sunday, 6:06 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Dec. 22, 2014, Monday, 6:48 p.m., -1.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Dec. 23, 2014, Tuesday, 7:31 p.m., -1.3 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Dec. 31, 2014, Wednesday, 3:05 p.m., 0.6 feet,  Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks, Copalis

 

For more information on razor clam digging, visit the WDFW website at http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/shellfish/razorclams/current.html.

Report Archive